The Golden Hour – 6:00 AM: the best hour of the day, or too close to your 3:00 AM bedtime?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Ha Ha Ha.”

My bedtime is…a figment of my imagination.  Not that I never sleep; in fact, I probably sleep more than I should.  It just varies so mualarm_clock_10ch, as does my wakeup time.  I’m learning that routine isn’t really a luxury that I have, as a SCAD student, and woman who’s trying to get her life together and thus trying to be involved in things.  The romance of getting up with the sun is, well, romantic, but only if I’ve had enough sleep the night before.  Otherwise, I’m more like “uhhhhhh, why am I alive right now? Uh, why do my eyes feel like they have a layer of sand in them? Uh, must my eyelids be so heavy? 30 more minutes. 3 times.”  I love sleep entirely too much, so if I want to naturally wake up at 6, I’d have to naturally go to bed by 9 or 10, so I can get the 8 hours of sleep that I would need to wake up without an alarm.  My mom always reminds me of the fact that I have loved sleeping since Day 1.  Apparently, I was born, I cried, they took my blood, weighed me, I ate, and proceeded to do the unthinkable: sleep for 8 hours!

I always find myself in awe of people who are naturally early risers, no matter how much sleep they’ve had the night before.  I’m even more in awe of people who do so without an alarm.  Just pop up at like 4:30 or 5:30 in the morning, ready to face the day.  I hope to be like that at some point.  Just so ready to embrace what the new day has to offer.

<a href="https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-golden-hour/">The Golden Hour</a>

Leave a Reply

